A Tragic Scenario : MC Hood in the Source (1992)

Obituary of the short lived MC Hood, whose carreer only consist of the homophobic, yet dope opening vers of the Scenario remix. Written by Matty C in The Source, May 1992.

A Tribe Called Quest, Hood & Leaders Of The New School : Scenario remix 

hood_source5921.JPG

8 Responses to A Tragic Scenario : MC Hood in the Source (1992)

  1. Efrain Rivera says:

    I lived at the group home Hood stayed at and he was cool. I will never ever forget him. That night I cooked some food for us, meaning all the guys on the floor we resided on. I told my room mate food is ready let the guys know, so he knocked on doors including hood’s. Hood opens and half asleep goes to the table and I tell him what I cooked ,all quiet he opens the pot looks at it and says save me some . That was the last time I saw hood alive. He goes to his room and naps. Me and the fella’s eat and I left food for Hood and went to take a nap. Hood ate the food I left for him. He left to do laundry with some of the residents and got caught up in some beef that one of the residents started. Hood changed my life for ever R.I.P. HOOD.

  2. Real Talk says:

    It’s sad and tragic. I remember being in elementary school and me and my friends wrote out all of the parts for Scenario pt. 1 and 2. I remember I used to be Dinco D in Scenario and I used to be Hood in the remix. We’d rap out the parts in the school yard to the other kids. Damn, I miss those days.

    Hood was ahead of his time by a long shot!!! I didn’t even know who Larry Davis was then, but I knew his name from the song. It’s sad that this brother never got a chance to really to do his thing in the music game.

    R.I.P. Hood

  3. city of killeen…

    [...]A Tragic Scenario : MC Hood in the Source (1992) « Press Rewind If I Haven't…[...]…

  4. He was on his way to stardom, you could hear the hunger in his voice. R.I.P Hood

  5. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both equally educative and amusing, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head. The problem is an issue that not enough folks are speaking intelligently about. Now i’m very
    happy I found this during my search for something concerning this.

  6. tonkaamun says:

    Peace to all. I knew MC Hood to the Hip Hop world he is known as, but to me he was Troy the little feisty dude with a swift handle and a jay. He had a lot of mouth, not to say anything bad about him. That was just a hood thing back then. One time we almost fought while playing basketball. We were all going hard on the B-ball court and a lot of trash talking. Troy had a big mouth and let you knew it too. At that time I knew him as a ball player we were young. Played ball in Jamaica Park back in our High School years in the late 80′s. Later on in the early nineties I would see him clubs, shaking hands with the people I knew in the business.

    I don’t think people knew that within those days when MC Hood did the Scenario remix. He signed a deal with a newly independent record company called Rude Boy Records. I knew because I worked for Rude Boy at that time. One day I was on my way up to the office of Rude Boy Records right off 9th avenue and 34th street. It was on the top floor right across from Caliope Studios.

    I was in the elevator coming to the top floor and the doors popped opened and there who do I see??? Troy!!!! He was excited and emphatic to tell me he just signed to Rude Boy records. I gave him a pound, and told him it was great and glad he made the deal. I was completely unaware of what was going to told to me the very next day about him. Also I was unaware of how he did the Scenario re-mix and killed that record… His verse was the hottest one on that track to me… Troy always had high energy, you saw it when he played balled. I think he played for a school or for Riverside church. He did have game when we balled. He also had lyrics too for niggas with or without music.

    The very next day I visited Rude Boy Records. I went to the office of one of the owners Bill Roberson. I saw Bill his expression was one of disbelief, anguish, a blank stare, silence, and grief. I asked Bill what had happened. He replied and stated ” Tonka you don’t know Troy is not here with us anymore. Hood got killed lasted night uptown”… My face dropped I could not believe it. I was like this dude just got signed to a New INDEPENDENT label that knew him well. Bill was always in communication with Troy. When Bill and I would go out to clubs, we always find Hood and we be in the joint together.

    This was before Tupac’s and Bigga’s death, before BadBoy. Eventually Rude Boy Records dissolved, and BadBoy was starting up. This was early 90, 91, 92′ish, I was a dancer at that time, so was a lot of other dudes in the business. Tupac he was a dancer for Digital Underground. A lot people forgot about that. Puffy too was a dancer for Father MC and other acts. Things change in the game since then. A lot has changed.

    Troy’s death made me re-direct my energy from the industry and go back to school to earn an Associate’s Degree and a career Telecommunications. I always say if MC Hood never got shot I don’t know if a lot cats would of made back then. This Queens Cat was not to be played with on the mic!!!!

  7. Hi there to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this website, and your views are fastidious in favor of new people.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

